How About Orange- Easy Fabric Vase Covers

Yesterday, while visiting one of my favorite blog, How About Orange, I saw this great DIY project/ tutorial for a removable slip cover of sorts for shot glasses (or any other cylinder-shaped vase or glass) that Jess came up with. So, I asked her if I could repost it here and she agreed.

But before the How To, I wanted to talk about Jess a little bit. You probably already read her blog, but did you know that she is also graphic designer, maker of beautiful things, and has an adorable home worthy of an apartment therapy feature to boot? I am impressed that anyone is able to successfully accomplish all that AND do it well. Aren’t you?

Oh, look how cute the middle vase with the trees is! Come home to me little tree vase. Come home.

Fabric Vase Covers How To:

1. Cut a piece of fabric large enough to wrap around your glass or vase once, plus about an inch of overlap. Make it as tall as your vase is, plus an extra half inch. (Of course, vary this depending on how much glass you want to show at the top.)

2. Fold over and press a half inch at the top and bottom of the fabric; then sew a seam across it to hold it down.
3. Wrap the fabric around your vase, right side to the inside, and pin it exactly where you’d like your seam to go. Slide the vase out and draw a line along the pins to help you sew where you need to.
4. Sew the tube along the line and press the seam open.

5. Flip the tube right side out and put it on your vase.

Loving this project but having trouble finding a great print fabric to use? Don’t worry, Jess has you covered there to. She has just designed a fabric collection with Modern Flora. Seriously, what can’t this girl do? Click here to take a look at her collection.

Comments
2 Responses to “How About Orange- Easy Fabric Vase Covers”
  1. waltenire says:

    This is a fantastic blog you have here. I visit here every week. I have already subscribed to your rss feed to help me stay update with your publication. Are you on twitter so that I can follow you?

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] is for Orange After I wrote this post, I knew I had to do an all orange board. I tried to include a little bit of everything. I think […]



Leave a comment