Mod Ribbon Spool Display Cubbies

So, I was staring at this pile of ribbon this weekend thinking about how I could use it for a new tutorial. It may come as no surprise that I love reusing things that I already have laying around the house. I don’t like to throw things away if I don’t have to, so coming up with new uses for old household items is always at the top of my list. I received such a great response from my last DIY project, I decided to do another one that is decorative yet organizational. It’s a painted ribbon spool wall display and it is a lot of fun! Here’s the tutorial…

Materials Needed: 1. Old, discarded ribbon spools 2. Acrylic paint or craft paint   3. Paint brush 4. Something to hang these on wall (nails, thumbtacks, or foam mounting squares) 

How To: Step One- Remove one side of the cardboard circle from a ribbon spool, keeping the other side intact. Discard removed circle.

Step Two- Take remaining section of ribbon spool and paint the inside with a medium sized brush and wait for paint to dry. Add second coat of paint and wait for paint to dry. I recommend using a bright color for an extra pop. 

Step Three- Once paint has dried, you are now ready to paint the outside of the spool. I chose a different color for the outside and went with white so it would blend with the wall color. Wait for paint to dry and apply second coat.

Step Four- After paint is dry, you are ready to hang on the wall. If you don’t want to use nails (I only used a nail for one because I have plaster walls and its a pain), you can use thumbtacks or foam mounting squares instead. Now you have a place you can display small figurines and knick-knacks!

I made a whole bunch of these in different sizes and colors and arranged them several different ways on the wall. And I decided to include some spools that still had ribbons on them as well.

Here’s one configuration. But I didn’t settle on this one…It was a little too haphazard. 

Here’s a close-up of a couple of the cubbies. I put some funky little figurines inside. I think they look cute.

The first picture above shows the ribbon display cubbies with another DIY project I did, album cover wall organizers. Click here for that tutorial. Or for other Paper N Stitch tutorials, click here.

If you have a tutorial or DIY project that you would like to share, click here to submit. List of other blogs who have linked to this tutorial:

Craft: zineOne Pretty Thing

Comments
6 Responses to “Mod Ribbon Spool Display Cubbies”
  1. Anya says:

    What a great and easy idea!

  2. Rachel says:

    These are SOOO freaking cool! I love this! The shape and the color pops are fantastic! I’ll be linking to this!

  3. papernstitch says:

    Thanks Anya and Rachel. I am so glad you both like the project. I had a lot of fun with these.

  4. ginger says:

    Very cute love this idea!
    hugs ginger

  5. deepak says:

    pictures very nice……?

  6. jos says:

    this is excellent!

Leave a comment