DIY Mobile

Today we have a DIY guest post from Christine, who is a stationery designer living in Suffolk, England with her husband to be and little dog Toby.  Christine is the owner of Paper and Cloth and has two excellent blogs here (papercloth blog) and here (crafty bride blog).

Materials: scrapbook (or any pretty) paper; cardstock; pencil; little scissors; double sided tape; cotton thread.

  1. Choose a shape, I drew a bird a while back so I used this to make my template. Any other shapes would work well such as flowers, circles, squares and so on.
  2. Use a piece of card (cereal packet or similar would work well) to draw your chosen shape on. Cut it out. You now have your template.
  3. I folded my paper so I didn’t have to draw around my template too many times! I managed to fold it into quarters and was still able to cut through it ok. Draw around your template with the pencil and cut out the shapes. I have seven birds on my finished mobile so I needed to cut out 14 shapes.
  4. Lay out your thread. Leave enough at the top so you can hang it up when you’re done. Lay your first cut out shape, right side down, underneath the thread. Put a piece of double sided tape over the thread and then match up another shape, right side up, over the top. Press it down.
  5. Continue this way, spreading out the shapes evenly until you’re done. Cut the thread off at the bottom and hang your new fancy mobile up wherever you fancy. 
Thanks so much for the tutorial Christine. Make sure to check out Christine’s shop when you get a chance. And stay tuned for another DIY project from her on papernstitch very soon.
Comments
13 Responses to “DIY Mobile”
  1. tutorials..My favorite!
    Thanks so much for posting it – I love this idea.

  2. Rachel says:

    This is SO cute! I’ll be linking to this project!

  3. lizzil says:

    Great project and decor! I wish there was a nice photo of what they all look like hanging. I’m looking to make a paper mobile myself to go with the recent wall art I made. It made bird cut outs and collaged on top of them, glued the birds to the branches and now have beautiful and unique wall art. Check it out on my blog.

  4. Jean says:

    What a cute idea. I included it in a recent roundup of fabulous DIY mobile ideas at my blog. Thanks!

  5. ;;, I am very thankful to this topic because it really gives useful information .*:

  6. Wow, wonderful blog format! How long have you ever been running a blog for? you make running a blog glance easy. The total glance of your web site is excellent, neatly as the content!

  7. Bud says:

    I came across your web blog, i believe your web site is awsome, keep writing.

  8. Curt says:

    I like this web site and have absolutely bookmarked it. I will expect to learn in additional particulars on my holiday

  9. Fernando says:

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take
    a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G
    .. Anyhow, very good site!

  10. One thing I’ve noticed is always that there are plenty of misconceptions regarding the finance institutions intentions any time talking about property foreclosures. One delusion in particular is the fact the bank needs to have your house. The lending company wants your hard earned money, not the house. They want the cash they lent you along with interest. Keeping away from the bank will only draw some sort of foreclosed conclusion. Thanks for your publication.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Check out the full DIY HERE A+Featured DIYs, Consumer, Cool, Design, DoItYourself!, Educational, Entertainment, Gadgets, HOWTO, kids, Projects A+Featured DIYs, Consumer, Cool, Design, DoItYourself!, Educational, Entertainment, Gadgets, HOWTO, kids, Projects var dc_UnitID = 14; var dc_PublisherID = 13853; var dc_AdLinkColor = ‘blue’; var dc_adprod=’ADL’; (No Ratings Yet)  Loading … […]

  2. […] sweet paper mobile instructions at Paper and Stitch. SHARE THIS POSTClose Bookmark and Share This Page Save to Browser […]



Leave a comment